Anglican Communion: The world-wide network of Anglican Christians from 160 countries.  While the church is known as either the Anglican Church, the Church of England, or the Episcopal Church, depending on the region, all Anglican Christians are part of the wider Anglican family, unified under the leadership of the Archbishop of Canterbury in England. The current Archbishop of Canterbury is the Most Rev. Justin Welby.

Archdeaconries and Deaneries: To assist the bishop with pastoral care and administration, each diocese is divided into regional areas called Archdeaconries, each overseen by a Regional Archdeacon.  Each Archdeaconry is then broken down further into areas known as Regional Deaneries, each with a Regional Dean who keeps in close contact with the churches in the area.

Cathedral:  Each diocese has a central church designated as the Cathedral Church of the Diocese.  Although every cathedral serves a local congregation, it is also the “Bishop’s Church” and serves as the central gathering place for all Anglicans in the diocese for special services and events. The Cathedral is the location of the cathedra which is the Bishop's Chair (throne). The rector of the cathedral is known as the “Dean”.  In Vancouver, the Very Rev. Peter Elliott is Dean of Christ Church Cathedral, located at 690 Burrard Street, Vancouver.  Christ Church was designated the Cathedral Church in 1929, prior to that time from 1879 Holy Trinity in New Westminster was the home of the cathedra.

Diocese: A regional grouping of churches, under the leadership of a bishop. In this area, we are part of the Diocese of New Westminster, which is made up of 68 urban and rural churches in Greater Vancouver, the Fraser Valley (to Hope), and the Sunshine Coast.The 9th Bishop of the Diocese of New Westminster is the Right Reverend Melissa Skelton, she was elected November 30th, 2013, and Consecrated and Installed, March 1st, 2014.

Primate: The national leader of the church also has the title of Archbishop. The current holder of the office is the Most Rev. Fred Hiltz. The Primate's office is situated in Toronto.


Archbishops: The Most Reverend (or The Most Rev.) Will B. Good

Bishops: The Right Reverend (or The Rt. Rev.) Will B. Good

Deans: The Very Reverend (or The Very Rev.) Will B. Good

Archdeacons: The Venerable (or The Ven.) Will B. Good

Priest & Deacons: The Reverend (or The Rev.) Will B. Good, or Father (or Fr.) Will B. Good

Canons (a title given for diocesan service): The Reverend Canon Will B. Good or in the case of Canon who is not ordained, Canon Will B. Good