Slideshow image

At our Synod on May 23, 2015 an election was held by our Diocese for delegates and alternate delegates to General Synod in 2016.

At that time 5 delegates and 5 alternate delegates were elected on the basis of our entitlement at the last General Synod in 2013. However, the General Synod of the Anglican Church of Canada revised the formula used to calculate the number of lay and clerical delegates to General Synod using attendance figures for four Sundays in the year as submitted by each Diocese for 2013 and 2014 and modified the formula that produces authorized diocesan representation to General Synod.

Our Diocese is now entitled to 3 clerical delegates and 3 lay delegates to attend General Synod in 2016. In accordance with the voting tally, this would mean the first 3 people with the highest votes would be delegates and the next 3 people would become the alternates as follows:

Lay delegates elected:
Melanie Delva, Cameron Gutjahr, Robert Dickson

Alternate lay delegates elected:
Glen Mitchell, Jane Osler, Alex Starr

Clerical delegates elected:
Lynne McNaughton, Peter Elliott, Douglas Fenton

Alternate clerical delegates elected:
Heidi Brear, Brian Vickers, Richard Leggett

Youth delegate elected:
Abby Cline

Alternate youth delegate elected:
Temiloluwa Alao