Slideshow image
Slideshow image
Slideshow image
Slideshow image
nav image
nav image
nav image
nav image

At the May 11, 2016 meeting of Diocesan Council, the governing body of the diocese, Bishop Melissa Skelton distributed a list containing the names of 49 Parish Nominees and 9 Bishop's Nominees to be invested into the Order of the Diocese of New Westminster (ODNW) on Saturday, November 5, 10:30am at The Massey Theatre in New Westminster.

Bishop Skelton reminded Council that under Regulation 22 (the canonical regulation that created the ODNW in 2009) she had appointed in 2015 three members of the Cathedral Chapter: Mrs. Ginger Shaw, Ms. Margaret Briscall and Ms Valerie Hobson for a two year term as her advisory committee on the parish nominees to the ODNW. The met on May 9, 2016 and the following nominees were accepted. Subsequently all nominees accepted their nominations.



Ms Priscilla Archer                Holy Trinity, White Rock

Mr John Binns                     St John the Apostle, Port Moody

Mrs Jenny Birtwell                Christ Church Cathedral

Ms Colleen Butterley             St Stephen the Martyr, Burnaby

Mrs Betty Carlson                 St James, Vancouver

Ms Brigette Castro                St Michael, Vancouver

Mr Ray Duff                          All Saints, South Burnaby

Mrs June Exworthy                St Alban the Martyr, Burnaby

Mrs Laurelle Findler                St Hilda, Sechelt

Mrs Johanna Finlay                St Mary, Kerrisdale    

Mr Alan Finnie                       St Stephen, West Vancouver

Mrs Donnie Foerster              St Timothy, Burnaby

Ms Sara Hanney                    St Clement, Lynn Valley         

Mrs Linda Harrison                St John the Evangelist, North Vancouver

Ms Kim Hodge                       St George, Fort Langley

Mr Stan Horton                     St Catherine of Alexandria, Port Coquitlam  

Mrs Lynne Hurd                      St Mark, Ocean Park  

Mr Jim Hylands                      St Christopher, West Vancouver        

Mr Neville Kim Sing                St Anne, Steveston

Mrs Molly Koning                  St Catherine, Capilano           

Mrs Nancy Konsmo               St Laurence, Coquitlam

Mrs Bev Kreller                     Christ Church, Hope   

Mrs Liz MacDonald                All Saints, Ladner

Mrs Audrey McAuley             St Dunstan, Aldergrove

Ms Peggy McMillan                St Agnes, North Vancouver

Mr Ed Meredith                     Holy Spirit, Whonnock           

Dr Jock Munro                      St Philip, Dunbar

Ms Helen Nebbeling               St Barnabas, New Westminster

Mr Don Neilson                     Holy Trinity Cathedral, New Westminster

Mrs Mary Newman                 St Francis-in-the-Wood, West Vancouver

Ms Wendy Nilsen                   St Faith, Vancouver

Mrs Monica O'Brien                 St Helen, West Point Grey

Mr Tony Picher                       St Michael, Surrey     

Ms Elsie Preedy                      St Oswald, Port Kells  

Ms Heather Rhodes                St Martin, North Vancouver

Mrs Helen Riel                        St Cuthbert, Delta

Mr Don Rodger                    St Thomas, Chilliwack

Mrs Anne Schaffar                 St John the Divine, Maple Ridge        

Ms Margaret Strocel               St Matthew, Abbotsford

Mrs Joy Stuart                       St Thomas, Vancouver

Ms Kathy Stubley                   St George, Maple Ridge

Ms Gail Tamagi                       Holy Cross, Vancouver           

Mrs Grace Tanaka                   Holy Trinity, Vancouver

Mr Digby Turney                    St Mary the Virgin, Sapperton

Mr Fred Watson                     All Saints, Agassiz

Mrs Carol Williams                  Church of the Epiphany, Surrey

Mr Jim Wilson                        All Saints, Mission

Mr Jack Wood                        St Paul, Vancouver

Dr Robyn Woodward             St John, Shaughnessy

Also in her report to Diocesan Council, Bishop Skelton informed Council that potential Bishop's Nominees were considered at a meeting with Archdeacons and the Dean on April 28. The following nominees have accepted the nominations and will go forward for investiture in the ODNW for 2016.


Dr Starr Allaby

Mr Christopher Barr

Mrs Joan Cope

Ms Sylvia Enga

Mr Simon Johnston

Mrs Margaret Jonsson

Mr Thomas Roach

Mrs Ginger Shaw

Mr Alex Starr