After celebrating the Eucharist together at Christ Church Cathedral the 2010 Synod delegates were welcomed as Members of Synod by Bishop Michael Ingham, Friday evening, May 14th.
147 Lay delegates and 76 Clergy delegates registered prior to the liturgy and the convening of the 109th Synod.
Bishop Michael accompanied by Chancellor George Cadman informed the congregation that they were no longer Synod Delegates but Members of Synod and as Members of Synod their charge is to listen to the Holy Spirit and listen to one another.
The music in worship was led by Christ Church Cathedral Organist and Director of Music Rupert Lang. Rupert conducted the Cathedral Choir who were supported by The Touch of Brass Quintet.
A text copy of the Bishop's Synod Sermon is available by clicking the link.
Synod reconvenes at 9am on Saturday, May 15th.
Image on right - Clergy delegates participating in the Eucharist in the Cathedral chancel.