Slideshow image

At the March 20, 2019 meeting of Diocesan Council, the governance body of the diocese, after consultation with the Regional Archdeacons and Regional Deans, Archbishop Skelton, gave her approval for the reorganization of some deanery and archdeaconry boundaries.  Diocesan Council affirmed her decision.   When the boundaries were most recently re-configured in 2013 the intention was to revisit the boundaries in three years. 

The changes considered historical connections, new transportation and transit routes and the alignment of these communities around commercial hubs and social services such as hospitals.  

The Deanery of The Valley will revert to its historic name of Yale.

The new boundaries will take effect at Diocesan Synod, May 24 and 25, with the collation and installation of the respective Regional Archdeacons and Regional Deans.

Archdeaconry of Fraser:

Deanery of Peace Arch consisting of the Parishes of

  • Christ the Redeemer, Cloverdale
  • Church of the Epiphany, Surrey
  • Church of the Holy Trinity, White Rock
  • St Helen, Surrey
  • St Mark, Ocean Park
  • St Michael, Surrey
  • St Oswald, Port Kells

Deanery of Richmond/Delta consisting of the Parishes of

  • All Saints, Ladner
  • St Alban, Richmond
  • St Anne, Steveston
  • St Cuthbert, Delta
  • St David, Tsawwassen

The Archdeaconry of Lougheed:

Deanery of Golden Ears consisting of the Parishes of

  • Holy Spirit, Whonnock
  • St Andrew, Langley
  • St Columba, Pitt Meadows
  • St Dunstan, Aldergrove
  • St George, Fort Langley
  • St George, Maple Ridge
  • St John the Divine, Maple Ridge

Deanery of the Valley to be renamed as the Deanery of Yale consisting of the Parishes of

  • All Saints, Agassiz
  • All Saints, Mission
  • Christ Church, Hope
  • St John the Baptist, Sardis
  • St Matthew, Abbotsford
  • St Thomas, Chilliwack

The Archdeaconry of Westminster:

Deanery of Royal City/South Burnaby consisting of the Parishes of

  • All Saints, Burnaby
  • Holy Trinity Cathedral, New Westminster
  • St Alban the Martyr, Burnaby
  • St Barnabas, New Westminster
  • St Mary the Virgin, Sapperton

Deanery of Tri-Cities/North Burnaby consisting of the Parishes of

  • St Catherine of Alexandria, Port Coquitlam
  • St John the Apostle, Port Moody
  • St Laurence, Coquitlam
  • St Stephen the Martyr, Burnaby
  • St Timothy, Brentwood

The Archdeacon of Vancouver was historically the title for the position that has become the Executive Archdeacon. There are also historic trust funds connected to this archdeaconry. For clarification the Archbishop has given the title of Archdeaconry of Granville to the former Archdeaconry of Vancouver.  The historic title of Archdeacon of Vancouver will be appended to the Executive Archdeacon. In making this change the former Deanery of Granville will become the Deanery of Oakridge.